Buford Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
Last month, the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) cited a Buford-based auto parts manufacturer after a number of workers were injured on the job. According to OSHA’s report, an employee performing maintenance on a piece of machinery was injured in May, while another employee suffered an amputation of a finger while adjusting a punch press machine two months later. Fortunately, these individuals qualify for workers’ compensation, which means that their medical expenses and lost wages will be covered. However, it can be difficult to file a claim, so if you were hurt at work, it is critical to consult with an experienced Buford workers’ compensation lawyer who can ensure that your claim is filed correctly and on time.Who is Required to Provide Workers’ Compensation Coverage?
Although technically not all employers are required to purchase workers’ compensation insurance for their employees, Georgia law does state that those who regularly employ three or more people must provide benefits. This includes part-time employees.What Does Workers’ Compensation Insurance Cover?
Workers’ compensation is an accident insurance program that provides injured employees with medical, income, and rehabilitation benefits. Covered medical treatment includes a range of expenses, including hospital bills, physical therapy, prescription medications, travel expenses, and doctor’s appointments. While treatment is usually only covered for a maximum of 400 weeks, catastrophic injuries can entitle employees to lifetime benefits.When do Injured Workers Begin Receiving Benefits?
Injured employees who are unable to work for more than a week can begin collecting weekly income benefits within 21 days of their first day of missed work. In the event that an injured employee misses more than three weeks, then he or she will also be eligible to collect benefits for the first week’s absence.How Much do Injured Workers Receive in Benefits?
In Georgia, those who are injured on the job are eligible to receive two-thirds of their average weekly wage, although the amount cannot exceed $575. Employees who are able to return to work, but are only able to accept lower paying employment because of their injury can continue to receive benefits, although the amount will be reduced to $383 per week and can only be collected for a maximum of 350 weeks.How do I File a Claim?
Injured employees have a year to file a claim with their employer following an injury. However, claimants are strongly encouraged to file within 30 days of the injury, as the longer a person waits to file a claim, the less likely it becomes that his or her claim will be approved. A Buford workers’ compensation lawyer can help answer any questions that might arise during the process. Once an employer has been given notice of the injury, the injured worker must file a claim with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation. Those who are denied benefits can request a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge who will listen to both sides of the story and review evidence before determining who will receive benefits.Please Call a Workers’ Compensation Attorney in Buford
For help filing your own workers’ compensation claim, you need the advice of an experienced workers’ compensation attorney serving Buford. Please call (770) 217-4954 to schedule a free consultation with a member of the legal team at The Angell Law Firm, LLC today.