FAQs About Workers’ Compensation in Georgia
Every state in the U.S. has its own workers’ compensation system in place in order to provide employees who are injured while on the job with medical, rehabilitation, and income benefits. The ins and outs of Georgia’s workers’ compensation system can be confusing, so for your convenience the answers to some frequently asked questions are provided below. However, it is important to note that each workers’ compensation case is unique. For case specific information it is important to consult with an Atlanta workers’ compensation lawyer.Q: Are all employers in Georgia required to carry workers’ compensation insurance?
A: No, not all employers in Georgia are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance. Under Georgia’s workers’ compensation laws, only businesses that regularly employ three or more people are required to obtain workers’ compensation insurance. Note that the term “regular employees” includes both full-time and part-time employees as long as their employment with the company is regular. If you are unsure whether or not your employer is required to have workers’ compensation insurance, you can verify coverage by visiting sbwc.georgia.gov, or consultng with a workers’ compensation attorney in Atlanta.Q: How long do I have to file my workers’ compensation claim?
A: Be aware that employees who are injured on while on the job in Georgia are required to immediately notify their employer of the incident. Injured employees who fail to provide adequate notice within 30 days may be ineligible to receive workers’ compensation benefits in Georgia.Q: Can an injured employee in Georgia collect both social security and workers’ compensation benefits at the same time?
A: Yes, it is possible to collect both social security and workers’ compensation benefits at the same time, however, be aware that under some circumstances the social security benefits that the injured employee is entitled to may be reduced if the employee is collecting workers’ compensation benefits. An experienced workers’ compensation attorney will be able to explain whether or not collecting workers’ compensation will impact social security benefits in your case.Q: What are the penalties in Georgia for filing a fraudulent worker’s compensation claim?
A: Under Georgia law, anyone who knowingly and intentionally makes false or misleading statements in order to obtain workers’ compensation can be forced to pay a fine of $1,000 to $10,000 and may be sentenced to serve up to 12 months in jail.Q: If I request a hearing before the State Board of Workers’ Compensation am I required to retain a lawyer to represent me?
A: Everyone has the right to represent themselves in front of the State Board of Workers’ Compensation. However, if there are significant benefits at stake, it is likely in your best interest to retain a worker’s compensation attorney in Atlanta who can ensure that your claim is presented properly and that your rights are protected.Need Legal Advice?
If you or a loved one was injured while on the job in Georgia and have questions about your legal options know that the Angell Law Firm, LLC is here to help. Attorney Bryce Angell has extensive experience working as an Atlanta workers’ compensation lawyer and is committed to zealously fighting for his client’s rights. To schedule a free initial consultation with Mr. Angell contact our Atlanta office today by calling (770) 217-4954.See Related Blog Posts